Walasse Ting (1929-2010) American artist...

Lot 70
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 30000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 20 000EUR

Walasse Ting (1929-2010) American artist...

Walasse Ting (1929-2010)
American artist of Chinese origin
Painting on rice paper.
This painting is part of a series of works that he produced following a trip to Amsterdam in the spring of 1987. Walasse Ting lived for two months in Amsterdam, where he worked with 66 young female amateur models.
These paintings on rice paper were born later, in New York, from the memory of this stay in the Netherlands.
Circa 1987-1988
Sight dimensions: H: 58; W: 88 cm
Provenance: Luxemburgish Estate

Biography: Walasse Ting (October 13, 1929 in Shanghai - May 17, 2010) is an American artist and poet of Chinese origin. Sometimes his Chinese name is used??? or his translations into Mandarin and Cantonese: Ding Xiongquan or Ting Hsiung-ch'uan.
Radiance and vitality characterize the women, flowers and animals represented by Ting. The seductive and magical world of Ting attracts all those who share her passion for the beauty of life. Ting left China in 1946 and lived for a while in Hong Kong. He then moved to Paris in 1952. There he met artists such as Karel Appel, Asger Jorn and Pierre Alechinsky, members of the avant-garde, CoBrA.

He then moved to New York, USA, where his art was inspired by pop art and abstract expressionism. He started as an abstract art artist, but most of his work from the mid-70s was called popular figurative art. These are works of large areas of color painted with acrylic colors. He lived in Amsterdam in the 90s, but moved several times between Amsterdam and New York. He is the author of 13 books, for example One Life Cent (E.W. Kornfeld, 1964), a portfolio of 62 lithographs by 28 artists, such as Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Tom Wesselmann, James Rosenquist, Asger Jorn, Pierre Alechinsky, Karel Appel, Kiki Kogelnik, Joan Mitchell and Sam Francis.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Walasse Ting (1929-2010) Artiste américain...

Lot 70
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 30000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 20 000EUR

Walasse Ting (1929-2010) Artiste américain...

Walasse Ting (1929-2010)
Artiste américain d'origine chinoise
Peinture sur papier de riz.
Peinture faisant partie d’une série d’œuvres qu’il a réalisé suite à un voyage à Amsterdam au printemps 1987. En effet, Walasse Ting vécu deux mois à Amsterdam, où il travailla avec 66 jeunes femmes-modèles amateurs
Ces tableaux sur papier de riz sont nés par la suite, à New York, de la memoire de ce séjour au Pays-Bas.
Circa 1987-1988
Dimensions à vue: H: 58; L: 88 cm
Provenance : Succession Luxembourgeoise

Biographie : Walasse Ting (13 octobre 1929 à Shanghai – 17 mai 2010) est un artiste et poète américain d'origine chinoise. Parfois, on se sert de son nom chinois ??? ou ses traductions en mandarin et cantonais : Ding Xiongquan ou Ting Hsiung-ch'uan.
L'éclat et la vitalité caractérisent les femmes, les fleurs et les animaux représentés par Ting. Le monde séduisant et magique de Ting attire tous ceux qui partagent sa passion pour la beauté de la vie. Ting a quitté la Chine en 1946 et a vécu un certain temps à Hong Kong. Il a ensuite déménagé à Paris en 1952. Il y rencontre des artistes comme Karel Appel, Asger Jorn et Pierre Alechinsky, membres de l'avant-garde, CoBrA.

Il a ensuite déménagé à New York, États-Unis, où son art a été inspirée du pop art et l'expressionnisme abstrait. Il a commencé comme un artiste de l'art abstrait, mais la plupart de ses œuvres à partir du milieu des années 70 a été appelé art figuratif populaire. Ce sont des œuvres de grandes zones de couleurs peintes avec des couleurs acryliques. Il a vécu à Amsterdam dans les années 90, mais a déménagé à plusieurs reprises entre Amsterdam et New York. Il est l'auteur de 13 livres, par exemple One Life Cent (E.W. Kornfeld, 1964), un portefeuille de 62 lithographies de 28 artistes, comme Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Tom Wesselmann, James Rosenquist, Asger Jorn, Pierre Alechinsky, Karel Appel, Kiki Kogelnik, Joan Mitchell et Sam Francis.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue